Welcome to Letsemeng Local Municipality

The Letsemeng Local Municipality is situated in the south-western Free State. It has a surface area of 10 192 square kilometres, which is 29,8% of the total Xhariep surface area. The five towns situated in Letsemeng are Koffiefontein (municipal head office), Jacobsdal, Luckhoff, Oppermansgronde and Petrusburg.

During 2000/2001, according to LDO documents, the Letsemeng population was estimated on 37 659 at an average of 3,69 people per square kilometre. This is about 29,3% of the total Xhariep population. Of these 69,1% live in urban areas, whereas 30,9% live in rural areas. According to the 1996 census the population density in the urban areas of Letsemeng was as follows: Koffiefontein – 9 758, Jacobsdal – 4 750, Luckhoff – 2 613, Oppermansgronde – 500 and Petrusburg – 6 046.

Please note that the contact number 0532059200 is temporarily down.You may however reach Letsemeng Municipality on the number 0533300200 for now

Meet the Mayor,

Me. Thandiwe Ivy Reachable

Ms. Thandiwe Ivy Reachable was elected as the Mayor of Letsemeng Local Municipality following the 2011 local government elections. She also serves as the Speaker of the Council. She was born in Koffiefontein and began her political career at an early stage.At school level, she participated in the SRC.

Read More…


  • 1
  • 2